We're enormously proud of Hiranya.  I remember baptising her five years ago; for a year she led our children's work; she's an accomplished poet; she was a big formative influence on many of our young people; and we always knew, when she was working as an accountant, that she'd end up doing something more adventurous.  Well, after a degree at the School of Oriental and African Studies, she is indeed doing something more adventurous - she's working as an accountant!  But she's doing it in Kabul in Afghanistan. as finance director for Skateistan, Kabul's premier (and only) skate-park.

Click here for a link to a you-tube video.  And click here for a report from espn. 

Hiranya writes:  "As we had landed, I had an incredible emotional reaction to the beauty of Afghanistan, the rugged, sparse mountains.  My heart was in my mouth.  I have never had a similar reaction, except for Sri Lanka (for obvious reasons).  And I felt, in my heart, that this is where I’m meant to be.  Maybe this sounds like wishy-washy hippy speak to some of you, but I can only speak from my own experience.  As we drove through the streets of Kabul, my excitement mounted...  Something in my heart is at peace, despite the external chaos of things...

"The next day, we went to the Skate Park and I was shown around.  ... I found a place to meditate in the girl’s locker room, so it was good to begin my practice as I mean to go on.  Then, in the afternoon, I skateboarded for the first time.  It is like flying, and I loved it, loved persevering and practising the basics over and over.  I can’t wait to keep going at it.  The climbing wall is a bit lacking in holds (as most of these are held up in customs somewhere) but should be good in due course. ...

"This morning, I was woken to the sound of bombings.  I thought to myself, ok, well this is Kabul; what do you expect, and was determined to sleep at least until 6am.  I was really irritated at the planes flying overhead keeping me awake.  And resolutely, went back to sleep.  At 7am I got up.  We have a Nepali journalist living with us, so he informed us that it was the British Council and (at that time) there were 3 civilian causalities.  ... I’m in Kabul; I wasn't expecting Disneyland.  But still, it is probably a great teacher as far as living in the present moment goes.

"One of my German colleagues had a great quote: “Suicide bombings: the best alarm clock in Kabul.”

"Sitting on the porch, watching the army planes fly by – very lowly I might add – I also watched the butterflies, the kites and the birds.  It occurred to me that all these things fly, yet some are silent, and other more ugly things, have to make a big noise. 

"So, that’s where it is so far.  I feel very at home.  Afghanistan is like a seductive lover: she lures me in.  And I know she will break my heart, but I am falling in love, and imagine I will keep coming back to her, despite knowing she will hurt me again.  There’s something about this place that gets you; je ne sais quoi!"

And this week the Vice-President of Afghanistan visted the Skatepark today. Hiranya says "There was lots of security; searched twice on my way into work."   Personally, I think that's pretty cool.  I asked for permission to write about it on the church blog because there can't be many churches in Essex with members working on projects visited by Vice-presidents.
5/3/2012 03:34:40 pm

its a great place to buy cheap tory burch outlet ... Because now a days medicine is need for all home.. so it is very easily way to purchase medicine at home... wonderful article.

Reply
5/7/2012 11:20:52 am

A handbag or just a bag as well as pouches are bags that happen to be normally used by women to hold their belongings. Most of these bags are made as per the fashion. A purse is actually a small bag which is used to

Reply
5/7/2012 02:50:50 pm

coach in many countries have agents that can be searched, in China he has become our consumer goods. Hong Kong and Shanghai have already have a coach of the store, but Japan also introduced a coach that expensive, luxury brand, became his second of the Kingdom. We always see the screen "C" word, many celebrities are a big fan of coach, can often present with a variety of parties, fashion styles you, beautiful colors, enough to attract the eye. Star advertising effect, so that more people understand that coach.

Our Coach outlet store online wholesale ,retail and discount coach of the product brand.COACH has been the practicality and durability of leather goods for their own mind, in a balance between traditional and popular, and maintain the price on the plain is very suitable for a senior ladies fashion brand.

Reply
5/8/2012 09:53:52 am

Over the internet Buying may be a methods of purchasing targeted unit and even availing in expertise creating an online business.

Reply
5/9/2012 04:46:09 pm

No matter what the field or specialty of your business, there is a coach out there for you. By considering your individual situation and working to meet the long and short term goals of your business, business coaching will help foster your company's growth.

Reply
5/10/2012 01:23:33 pm

Except for availing goods, on the list of exclusive attributes and even expertise in web based store shopping is without a doubt going without shoes can certainly meet your daydream family trip escapades.

Reply
5/10/2012 04:28:41 pm

The post is absolutely fantastic! Lots of great information and inspiration, both of which we all need! Also like to admire the time and effort you put into your blog and detailed information you offer! I will bookmark your blog and have my children check up here often.

Reply



Leave a Reply.