I don't really publicise birthdays, but thanks to Facebook I was outed both at church (where Stephanie had arranged for me to be presented with a cake), and on BBC Essex (where I was on the breakfast show), and now across the world with birthday greetings from people I can't even remember meeting!  So - it's public knowledge, I'm 42.  Double 21.  If you're 21, I was your age when you were born.  If you're born today, when you reach 21 I'll be 63 and about 10 years off retirement (assuming the age of retirement keeps on rising!), and when you reach the age I am now I'll be 84.  If of course I make it that long.  And if God has not decided to step in and put the world to rights by then - though Eileen told me yesterday that we'll celebrate birthdays in the new heavens and new earth, and who am I to argue?

Elva made an extraordinary cake, which the Griffiths family are eating - but the sugar icing caricature of me is being preserved for as long as it'll keep.  If I can work out a way to photograph it I'll upload it onto the blog.

It was an odd harvest service, to be honest, and I take responsibility for that, but it was good to hear from Chris about central and eastern Europe, the children's dance was tremendous (thanks Gill), the church looked wonderful (thanks Josie and the team), the choir were outstanding (even better the second time round, thanks everyone) and Stephanie managed somehow to make everyone smile by her surprise birthday announcement!   This afternoon we're making bread for the school harvest service.  Watch this space for a report on whether my old bread machine is still working, and whether the loaf has the consistency of a brick.
5/3/2012 04:49:18 pm

its a great place to buy cheap tory burch outlet ... Because now a days medicine is need for all home.. so it is very easily way to purchase medicine at home... wonderful article.

Reply



Leave a Reply.