The call for change seems to focus on two aspects of life at St Michael’s - the implied division between our two congregations and the need to reinvigorate our mission to the wider Parish of Galleywood.    

I don’t think the fact that we offer two different forms of service suggests to the wider public that we are a divided church.  Our newsletter is delivered, four times a year, to every home in the village and I’m sure this is seen to represent the one church of St Michael’s.  I think the current feeling for ‘change’ is brought about by the concern that the congregation at COTC is stuck immovably in the past and will be dead within a decade anyway. 

Whenever I attend morning service at The School I am impressed with the warmth of the welcome. I know very many of the congregation  by name and the sheer enthusiasm of the worship always makes an impression;  with the presence of the children underlining  the family atmosphere.  The  carefully prepared overhead  projection certainly smooths the progression of the service and I am conscious of being with people who are committed in their faith.  Despite this I still choose to go to COTC.

When I was carried into church in my mother’s arms eighty years ago I was introduced into a traditional form of worship and at seventeen I made my personal commitment to God.  My initial reaction  to the call for change is to confront the fact that I am not the Christian that I ought to be.  I may  spend many hours applying my skill as a designer  on behalf of St Michael’s, but would not feel comfortable knocking  on my neighbour’s door to invite him to come to church – a difficult confession to make.

Having confessed my shortcomings in the way of evangelism,  I feel there are many ways that our Mission can be advanced.  A recent look at our website revealed the depressing blue colour theme and the fact that it appears to have been a year since it was updated.  I imagine there are other ways in which we could use technology to reach our audience.  I’m sure the internet  could be a useful tool.  I’ve not seen Facebook  as the password I use for online banking and shopping is rejected by them as not secure, but I understand that anyone who is anyone should have one.  Twitter, Blogging etc sound like they will connect with today’s  tech-savvy audience. 

I’m afraid that this all sounds a bit negative and  is probably not the response expected to the Forty Days document.  I’m conscious of the fact that I don’t measure up to what is required of a good and faithful servant, but I hope the front-line fighters in God’s army need some non-combatants back in the office.
Fiona Selden
2/6/2010 05:08:04 pm

Thank you for this David, your honesty and your gracious words about Church at the School.
Whenever I have visited Church on the Common, I am always impressed by the depth, maturity and reality of the faith of the people there. It's an enriching experience - we need each other: grandparents, parents and children in the Lord.

Reply



Leave a Reply.