Weeks 5-6: A Psalm to pray with

Well, the decisions have been taken; it only remains for the leadership team to decide how they are going to implement and communicate them.  The remaining ten days give us a chance to pray for ourselves and our mission partners, and prepare for Lent, with Psalm.57.  I believe God directed my thoughts to this Psalm because I’m nervous about how things are going to turn out; I hope it helps you too.

Mon 8 Feb: David takes refuge (57: title and verse 1)

Of David, when he had fled from Saul into a cave.

“Have mercy on me, O God,                       have mercy on me,

for in you my soul takes refuge.

I will take refuge under the shadow of your wings

until the disaster has passed.”   (Psalm 57:1)

David’s on the run – he finds a cave.  But he doesn’t pray “Lord, I take refuge in this cave”, he prays “In you I take refuge... under the shadow of your wings.”  Today, imagine what it would feel like to hide in the cave; imagine what it would feel like to be nestled like a chick under the mighty wings of God.

Today would also be a good day to pray for the work of SASRA.  SASRA is one of our mission partners, working with soldiers and airmen, many of whom will be in Afghanistan today.  Pray that through the ministry of SASRA, service personnel may come to know that their souls can take refuge in God.



Leave a Reply.