“Be exalted, O God, above the heavens; let your glory be over all the earth.” (Psalm 57.11)

Do you remember what Bishop Claughton said in the first sermon ever preached at St Michael’s, back in 1873?   “We found this church not for the angels, not for the men who will worship here, not for the ministers, but for the Lord Jesus, and to him and him alone be all the glory.”  You and I live in a consumerist culture, always concerned with what we can get out of any institution we’re involved with.  But what counts is: what is God doing, and how can I best cooperate with him and with his purposes, to his glory?                                 There are no Tuesday or Thursday Prayer meetings this week
Hannah Cotton
2/19/2010 01:13:19 am

Wise words Bishop Claughton!! If Jesus were to walk into St Michael's (both congregations) on sunday morning I wonder what He would think?!The Bishop's words, spoken over a hundred years ago, are just as relevant today as they were then! Church isn't about us or about what we get out of the service(s). I wonder, Andy, whether the Bishop's words could be displayed at church (school and common).

In 2008 I moved away to Ipswich and have settled into a great church community but St. Michael's is still my spiritual home!! I pray for the church and Andy and Stephanie. My heart is still in Galleywood and I know that St Michael's is a very blessed community!

Reply
andy
2/20/2010 12:20:34 am

Thanks Hannah - we miss you too!

Reply



Leave a Reply.